Thursday, January 05, 2006

Excuse me, but do you REALLY have a medical degree?

I have been coughing for three months. For three months, I tried every thing from cough medicine to cough drops to allergy medicine to Theraflu to Vicks VapoRub and still my cough persisted. My husband bugged me daily during these dreadful three months to make a doctor's appointment and go forth and be healthy. I daily "forgot" to make one and went on coughing. It has been kind of embarrassing, hacking and wheezing away taking short little walks, but nevertheless, I remained without a doctor's visit.

This past week, my symptoms intensified and it began to hurt when I breathe. Yesterday, I got to that point where I couldn't take it anymore and I made an appointment to go to the doctor.

Aside: When I started working here, I was new to the area and did not know which doctor to choose as my Primary Care Provider for my new insurance, so I flipped through the book and randomly chose one. I know, not a smart idea, right?

So, today I went into the appointment, not knowing what to expect, but hoping against hope that I could just get looked at and they would cure me. I arrived early for my appointment, optimistic that they would take me earlier. They did not take me back for the appointment until an hour after the time it was scheduled for. The nurse that took my weight and blood pressure did not take my temperature even though I was a sick patient. After another fifteen minutes of waiting, the doctor arrived.

I am young and I do not like when people look down on your youth, so let that be known when I say that she was a very young doctor. This raised a tiny red flag, but not a big one. She listened to me list my symptoms and asked how long they had been going on. I told her and she looked at my eyes, ears, nose, and throat. Then she listened to me breathe. She tried to explain sinus infections to me, but was yawning in the middle and stumbled over her words. Then she tried to tell me that my problem was allergies and it will go away.

Now, this is why I do not like to go to the doctor. This happens too often to me and I end up feeling like I have wasted my time and shouldn't bother to ever go again.

She took a second look at her chart and "remembered" that I had been sick for three months and said, "Maybe it is possible that you have some sort of infection." Anyway, she gave me a prescription for an anti-biotic just in case I want to take it. I will be starting it immediately because I am under the distinct impression that I do not just have allergies.

I think this must sound a little negative, but I guess I feel like if I am paying someone to give me medical care, they should give quality medical care. I will not be returning to that office. Fortunately, Brandon's cousins live here and we are just joining a church and between all the people we know, I am sure we can find a good doctor recommendation.

In other news, Brandon called me on Tuesday, very excited because he won tickets to see a basketball movie preview tonight. He was so psyched because he listens to AM Sports Radio and he was on the radio. "Everyone in the Saint Louis listening area heard me!" he told me. And I get to go home to him, Ladies and Gentleman. I told him I would gladly accompany him to a two hour basketball movie event if popcorn was included in the deal. So that is on my agenda for tonight. :) Ah, the lives of married seminary couples. . .

No comments: